Real Talk, No Kevin Hart / Social Experiments

Is Black Friday Worth It?


Black Friday has been the biggest shopping day for as far back as  I can remember and about 60 years before that.  Major retailers beat consumers over the head with numerous deals that seem to be the best deals you’ll see all year…maybe even your whole life to date.  So the typical (uninformed) consumer buys into all of the hype and risks life and limb through rain, sleet, or snow for a chance to snag these incredible “deals.”

I’d be lying to you if I said I never participated in the madness of Black Friday.  It was Thanksgiving 2010 and I was spending the holidays with my In-laws.  Target advertised a 42″ 1080p TV for $300 (It seemed like a great deal at the time) and I couldn’t help but get giddy thinking about how cool it would be to have that in my living room.  So I headed out to Target at 2 a.m. since the the store wasn’t opening until 4 a.m.  I was thinking to myself, “2 hours before should be cool.”  *Buzz Sound* WRONG.  That line wrapped around the store about 4 times over.  And did I mention it was about 20 degrees outside? Bad move.  Once the store opened, I witnessed pure anarchy.  The normal rules of humanity became non-existent,  old ladies shoved teenagers, people stole buggies from one another, babies were screaming, and I think  I saw a crackhead trying to sell a capri sun in the parking lot. Out of all this chaos, I didn’t even get the TV. SMH.

I learned a valuable lesson that night.  Black Friday shopping isn’t worth it.  The crazy doorbuster deals you see aren’t that great. And for the ones that are too good to be true, normally have limited quantity.  So that means you have to be willing to line up hours (and sometimes days) before to even have a chance.  Since I’m cognizant of the fact that my time has value, I realize that when you add up time spent and opportunity costs, the deal actually becomes more expensive than what the TV normally would cost in the first place.  Not to mention for the thousands of people standing in line that come up empty handed upon running into the store, feel compelled to buy SOMETHING to justify the hours of torture they’ve endured.  But guess what? That SOMETHING isn’t anywhere near the price of the original item you lined up to begin with.

According to dealnews.com, deals are actually available online days before and after Black Friday.  Sometimes, the deals are actually cheaper too.  So if your sole purpose is to save money, I behoove you to do a lot of research online because there’s a high probability of doing so without leaving the comforts of your home.  Now if your purpose is to get a taste of what the world will look like when our Government collapses, then by all means, head out there.  Just be sure to have some sort of weapon on hand to defend yourself from that 90-year old lady.

I’ll leave you with a video of what happened at a Target in Buffalo, NY back in 2010.  Guess I wasn’t the only one who thought that TV was a great deal that year.

Stay safe out there people and as always…stay classy.

Ant

So did you go out earlier today to grab some deals?  Have a Black Friday shopping experience you’d like to share with the Block?  Be sure to leave your comments below.

Speak on it!

