Social Experiments

30 Early Impressions about the XXX Olympiad


I would not go so far as to say that I am extremely patriotic; in fact I would consider myself a moderate, if there were such a thing, as it relates to my patriotism. However, while I don’t always agree with the decision made in this country, the politics that have perceived governance, and the ever present inequalities that exist across pretty much every piece of the American fabric; there is no other place that I would rather live. There is also no better time to be an American citizen than right now; cheering on the USA as we march toward Olympics medals and world superiority. With that said here are thirty initial impressions of the Olympics thus far…and maybe a few other side comments.

  1. Miss me with the History Lesson- while I can appreciate the authenticity of the opening ceremony, let’s be honest, it was boring, a little weird (specifically the enormous baby unveiled in the middle of the infield).
  2. Who’s not a fan of Women’s volleyball; beach and indoor?
  3. This USA Men’s Basketball Team- is really good. And if the objective basketball fan looks closely, the statement made by Kobe Bryant and supported by Lebron James, saying that this team could beat the original, and only DREAM TEAM, are not as ludicrous as it may sound.
  4. Is it just me or does Michael Phelps look like he is just along for the ride? I mean he’s going to be the most decorated Olympian ever by the end of these Olympics but damn…could he be anymore nonchalant?
  5. Ryan Locthe is the type of “White Boy” that most of the friends I knew growing up would have cut for…grill and all.
  6. As one of my Phrat Brothers eluded to on twitter, can someone help Gaby Douglas do something with her hair?
  7. Hope Solo…Lo Lo Jones…. Any athlete that you can currently think of <<<<<<<<<<<<<Brenda Castillo…it’s not even close.
  8. Speaking of women’s soccer…Hope ought to be shamed talking down on Brandi Chastin… that woman’s stripped to her Sports Bra for soccer.
  9. Am I the only one who thinks that all of the performances in diving, before watching it on replay, look exactly the same?
  10. Kim Rhode has won Olympic Gold in 5 straight Olympics…shooting. That’s 20 years worth of dominance.
  11. Be honest…most of y’all could care less about the Olympics until it’s time for Track and Field.
  12. No, I don’t feel bad for 17 year old Jordyn Wieber. She got her butt handed to her #ThatIsAll
  13. Has anyone noticed how awful both Chinese Gymnastics teams have looked this year?
  14. I have a hard time watching men’s gymnastics…#GoFigure
  15. I’m not a fan of the WNBA, but the women’s US basketball team is quality viewing…for about a quarter.
  16. So apparently there are some men who would like to compete in rhythmic gymnastics and synchronized swimming….#HUH?
  17. When is the Olympics going to be in the USA again…not that I have a problem with tape delay, but if I wanted to be surprised by certain outcomes, social networking has ruined that.
  18. Yeah, the coach in the front of the rowing boat is the last person I want to hear for 2000 meters.
  19. Who’s representing US boxing this year? Wait they do still have boxing right?
  20.  There is only one portion of the world that dominates table tennis…ask @IAmAnt about it.
  21. How underrated is the sport of Sailing? That team never gets any love.
  22. Serena Williams has her second round tennis match today….her outfit in these games #Conservative
  23. Women’s Water Polo is much more interesting than Men’s Water Polo…those women are #Vicious
  24. America has a great shot of winning the Decathlon this year with Ashton Eaton
  25. Jamaica will dominate all of track and field this year….again!
  26. Remember when Flo Jo made track and field flashy…?
  27. America straight high jacked the melody from  the British national anthem.
  28. Allyson Felix better medal in the 100meter race….
  29. I love the Olympics…always have….
  30. If you had an opportunity to be in the Olympics, what sport would you have wanted to compete in and why…Let #DaBlock know….
4 thoughts on “30 Early Impressions about the XXX Olympiad

  1. The Dream Team has such a better post game than this years Olympic team…it may be close, but I gotta give the edge to the 1992 squad.

    I’d like to make Channel Surfing or Freeway Driving an Olympic sport, cuz I’m damn good at both of those…Bring Home the GOLD!

    • this years team would beat the the 92 team more often than folks give them credit. the PG’s would even the post advantage teh 92 team had and then it would come down to kobe and bron vs. MJ. And I ain’t so sure the 92 squad could hang with the athletes on this team.

  2. I think the difference is that the dream team would pick this team apart with their combination of athleticism as well as execution. The players just seemed to be smarter and played with more discipline as a whole. There had more versatility, which is why I would give them the edge.

    Now maybe it’s just me but I don’t see what’s the big deal about Brenda Costillo. Don’t get me wrong, she’s cute, but from the pictures I’ve seen she’s no Lolo or Solo. Those Brazilian volleyball players and the Dutch field hockey team on the other hand…they’re kinda special

Speak on it!

