Random, Just Read It! / Social Experiments

Is it Bullying or Bull$#it?


Let me start of by saying this blog is about to make me feel old…like for real.

Every day thousands of teens wake up afraid to go to school. Bullying is a problem that affects millions of students, and it has everyone worried, not just the kids on its receiving end. Yet because parents, teachers, and other adults don’t always see it, they may not understand how extreme bullying can get.

Hand down, Man down

They say bullying is when a person is picked on over and over again by an individual or group with more power, either in terms of physical strength or social standing.  Some call it “hazing” which if that’s the case, everybody has gone through it.

Two of the main reasons people are bullied are because of appearance and social status. Bullies pick on the people they think don’t fit in, maybe because of how they look, how they act (for example, kids who are shy and withdrawn), their race or religion, or because the bullies think their target may be gay or lesbian.

Some bullies attack their targets physically, which can mean anything from shoving or tripping to punching or hitting, or even sexual assault. Others use psychological control or verbal insults to put themselves in charge. For example, people in popular groups or cliques often bully people they categorize as different by excluding them or gossiping about them (psychological bullying). They may also taunt or tease their targets (verbal bullying).

Verbal bullying can also involve sending cruel instant or email messages or even posting insults about a person on a website — practices that are known as cyberbullying.  Cyberbullying is fairly new since people now think that if something is posted on Facebook or Twitter that is HAS to be true.

Look here people, when I was growing up, you were either the bully or you got bullied.  Plain and simple.  I’ve been fortunate to be apart of the cool kids most of my life so I didn’t have to deal with much bullying.  Ok, let me admit to being a bully from time to time, but we’ll blame that on me being a natural jerk.  So the new age way of dealing with bullying wouldn’t work with my generation.  For one I was raised not to snitch, which is exactly what they tell you to do when you’re a victim or if you see bullying….so that wouldn’t work.  Another reason is I actually don’t mind throwing them hands….so I wish a bully the best of luck with that.   My grandma, God rest her soul, would tell me that I couldn’t come home if I lost a fight and I still live by those words.  She didn’t care if the other person was bigger than me or not, lose the fight, pick up a stick, win the second fight and I could go home with some sort of pride no matter how bruised.

If you ask me, I think it’s simply the kids are getting softer than Charmin and the parents are becoming over-protective.  When I hear stories of kids committing suicide over comments posted on a social media site or because they got beat up in front of that girl they like I can only think they weren’t raised right.  Kids should be exposed to at least a little adversity because it’ll only make them stronger.  But we live in a society where every single kid is diagnosed with ADHD and given meds because they’re sad they don’t have a date to prom, so what more would I expect?

In the words of the great philosopher Major Payne, “pop yo titty out his mouth, and quit babyin him!”  So keep your kid out of those sports leagues that don’t keep score, everybody makes the team, and every kid gets to play and maybe, just maybe they’ll know what failure feels like and try to better themselves.  So skip all the anti-violence meetings and bully movie watching and simply re-read this blog!  Want to stop bullying, teach your kids that “Mark Jackson”…”hand down, man down”.  I’m not here to promote senseless violence, but suckas step up to get beat down, ya dig?

What do you all think about the current state of bullying?  Were you the bully or the one getting bullied?  Have you ever been cyberbullied?  Do you think I’m wrong?  Why?

 

 

Thanks for tuning in….

BROWNLEE

12 thoughts on “Is it Bullying or Bull$#it?

  1. I’m with you. Or I’m just insensitive to those that get bullied. Someone bullying you, you take action. It doesn’t always mean fight, but do something. Growing up I didn’t look like the type to do anything if it came down to a fight, but I was the first to ‘throw them hands.’ So you gain a rep off some hidden talent you have. You be the biggest nerd around, but if you have a mean jump shot you can still be that nerd that can shoot lights out. People will leave you alone.

  2. I see where y’all are coming from and mostly agree. Kids have been softened up. Instead of having that ice cream you had to put in the microwave for 30 seconds to scoop it, most of them are coming out of the soft-serve machine. That being said, what do we do about kids who don’t have the initiative/parenting/positive influences to tell them they don’t have to take it? I was the only white kid in my neighborhood after 2nd grade (all the rest left for the burbs – guess my folks didn’t get the memo), so I had to throw down a couple times and that was it. Note to all white kids in non-white neighborhoods – do everything you can to avoid wearing Pro-Wings. Go to goodwill and get some used adidas or something.

    Anyway, back to my point. I was lucky enough to have parents and a big brother to show me the ropes. Some of these kids nowadays don’t have shit. No dad, barely no mom, no uncles, no teachers – no one to teach them they don’t have to take it.

    I don’t know if all this bullying education and dry-snitching is the answer to a larger social problem, but shouldn’t we do something about it? What would be a more effective anti-bullying campaign?

  3. Kids are definitely softer these days, but it’s not their fault. They’re brought up that way. I was that really skinny kid, with a dry fro and bad teeth. So I definitely got picked on. But guess what, I fought back. I learned how to fight against a bigger person. You punch him in the throat while they’re talking. If they can’t breathe, they can’t fight or defend themselves. After stuff like that, I didn’t get picked on anymore.

    But back to the point of kids being brought up that way. I’ve witnessed my daughter participate in Field Day at her school for the past 3 years. Call me crazy, but I could have sworn kids got ribbons for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place in each event. Well, for the past 3 years, it’s an “EVERYBODY IS A WINNER” kind of thing. On paper it sounds fine, but psychologically, we’re titty feeding these kids into thinking as long as I participate, I win.

    The only thing I would say is more severe these days, is cyber bullying. At least in our day, after you leave school it was pretty much over. Nowadays, stuff gets posted on the internet and it spreads all over the world. That’s pretty harsh.

    • Yea, I kinda wish we had YouTube when I was in school…I damn sure wouldve had my lil ole football highlights uploaded and may have forwarded the link to a few college coaches…I’m just saying. Oh God, please don’t give me text & picture messages back in 96-97…that’s how I’d end up with double digit kids at 31!!

  4. I watched Major Payne today too. lol I don’t remember bullying being a big issue when I was little. Kids don’t even go outside anymore, they have ipads. You gotta start punching them in the chest at home again I guess. lol

  5. I’ve been on both sides. I remember one year in 9th grade a new girl in school decided she hated me for no apparent reason and started messing with me. She was one of those huge bullies who EVERYBODY was scared off so other girls chimed in or laughed at what she’d say just to avoid being bullied themselves. I learned a lot that year, one being that I was much stronger than I knew. But that was more retrospective, at that age it really seems like that matters so I empathize with people being bullied.
    I don’t think kids benefit from being soft per se, but I don’t see how they benefit from being “hard”. That just brings up more callous, cold, and jaded adults. I think kids these days could use better role models. I think it helps that light is being brought to this issue so people are coming out and talking about their stories because it helps to feel like you’re not alone in your struggle.

    Great blog Brownlee, we need more awareness of this issue

  6. Well written, Brownlee. I totally agree. If our society doesn’t find some balance on”sensitivity” issues we’re going to be in a much sadder state as people alienate themselves behind computers fearing “real” relationships that require healthy (and sometimes hurtful) dialogue.

Speak on it!

