Social Experiments

Role Reversals


Theoretically I know how to change a tire.  I’ve gotten about 3/5 of the way through the process before my uncle met up with me and finished the job for me.  But I was on the right track.  It was lots of elbow grease put into turning the lug nuts but it got done.  My dad made sure that when I got my license I learned how to change a tire before I was set loose on the streets of H-Town.  In middle school it was my responsibility to take all the trash out in our house.  I also took woodshop in 8th grade.  Are these boy things?  Maybe.  But seriously it just seems like something everyone should know how to do.

When I go shopping for my kid I purposely mix it up.  I get tired of looking at everything available for little girls to be glittery and pink and say “Daddy’s Little Princess” or have some ridiculous sassy saying on the front.  I get browns and grays and things with footballs and monkeys on them.  I don’t get offended if someone questions her gender.  She’s a baby.  It’s honestly hard to tell with some of them.

My plan is to let her know that there are options available to her.  She can be girly and a ballerina or like princessy things but that isn’t all that’s out there.  She can like pow-pow-power wheels and teddy bears and fire up the grill whenever she wants.  I think that if I had a son I wouldn’t force a ball in his hand from day one and I’d teach him how to cook or bake and clean like any person should.

Are there any typical roles from the opposite gender you spent more time perfecting?  Are there any that you’re already good at?  Anything that you wish wasn’t classified as for boys or for girls???   

7 thoughts on “Role Reversals

  1. I think learning how to cook has been accepted as a Woman’s role. The interesting thing is nowadays, even Women can’t cook. That’s a skill that needs to be taught at an early age regardless of sex. I mean, learning how to feed yourself is essential to survival.

  2. I really had to think about this. I was raised by all women so you just got it done. Other than boys don’t play with Barbie dolls that was about it. I hate taking out the trash. I don’t care who does it I just don’t want to do it. Everything else has a manual or some instructions somewhere so I know I can figure it out. It’s nice and appreciated when a man wants to help me with something but if all of the men disappeared tomorrow I’m sure that I could manage. I think the only gender role I have is that when married I require a man to be the head of the household. That doesn’t mean I can’t do it I just think that’s how it’s supposed to be. Now with that being said not just any man can run it. This a Batman and Robin team effort. As Robin I can do anything you can do but I will take a half step back and let you run with it. If you are a Robin also you need not apply. Oh I do appreciate the role of men being gentlemen. Compliments, opening doors, hugs & forehead kisses. I have perfected the “Gentleman’s” role. I compliment, open the door from the inside, tell them how thankful I am that they took me out. I have even asked men out on dates. I like doing those things for a special man. I apologize for being long winded but this was a difficult and thought provoking question….

    • No need to apologize at all! Those are good points because some people CAN do it all but the point of being in a relationship is to not have to do it all. To play off each others strengths and weaknesses. I just don’t like when people tell me that I shouldn’t be into something because it’s for guys. And I’m not going to just wait around for a guy to handle something because I don’t know how to do it on my own.

  3. Pingback: Naughty Bear | GameAmbassador.com - Video Games! | The Games Online

  4. I agree Bre that we shouldn’t tell people to do stuff because of their gender, however as a parent I just don’t want my kids doing certain things. I don’t want my son playing with my daughters dolls, even though its okay for my daughter to play with his monster trucks (I know its not write it just is). I would prefer my daughter scratch herself in public, my son…meh not so much of an issue. Gender roles in the US determine a lot. When women tend to go outside of the traditional gender roles it is cool and sexy, when men do it, they are gay or soft. The stigma of going against the grain is a little steeper for men than it is women, IMO.

Speak on it!

