Real Talk, No Kevin Hart

Happy Birthday to The Block!


I don’t know how we missed it, but we turned a year old this month!!  The Block Blog has lasted one year in the blogging game and we’ve come a long way.  Since August of 2011, we have had over 83K views, about 1,200 comments and posted 224 blogs!  We have been featured on some of the most viewed blogs in the game and our post have more than held their own.  In that same time span, our writers have become contributors to sites outside of our genre, extending our reach and developing our brand.    That’s a lot of hard work and dedication and we have loved every single minute of it.  It’s kinda dope that we were able to come together and make this happen.  I admire every writer on The Block and think that they are talented, funny, insightful, and just plain ole awesome.  I appreciate every guest post we have had, heck we liked one guest so much we bought him on the team!  But most of all, I appreciate the readers!  I appreciate the people who hang out on The Block everyday and chop it up with us in the comments section, on twitter, Facebook, through email, and sometimes even through text messages.  Yes, I have received a text message about our content on more than one occasion, and only one of them was my momma telling me to watch my mouth!  Over the past few months we have been developing a community in the comments section and we hope that our content continues to encourage that trend.  We value every comment; good, bad, or indifferent.  Actually I fiend for them.  As soon as I click “post” I check to see if someone has commented, liked, or shared the post.  I check back like every 5 minutes hoping to see a comment, tweet, or something.  Every time our posts are retweeted or Facebooked it’s like taking a hit.  At least what I think taking a hit would feel like….”don’t just say no to drugs, say NO THANK YOU!” – random cop from The Wire (season 2).   You all never disappoint, when the content strikes a chord, you let us know how you feel and just so that you know, that makes us feel proud.  Proud that we were able to be a part of your day and your thoughts. 

I understand that there are millions of blogs to read, so the fact that you enjoy what we do enough to kick it with us on a regular basis means a lot.  You could have read in blog in the world but you choose to be here with us and for that we say thank you. 

For those new to The Block, here are some of our most popular post:

 

Woman, Independent

Dating Dilemma

Ya’ll Aint Ballin

Is This What We Paid For?

Every Girl in the World

Put a Ring on it

How To Spot a Coward

I’m Having a What?! …Quarter-Life Crisis

When we first started this blog we wanted to consistently put out good content that would engage readers and start conversations that would carry over off-line.  If you have suggestions on how we can continue to do that or do it better let us know. 

Once again for your support we say

Thank you thank you, you’re far too kind!

be sure to check us out on Twitter and Facebook! (we know you see that stuff over there on the side of the site!)

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to The Block!

  1. Congrats fam!! Dig yall movement and appreciate the guest post ya’ll contribute to my spot! I don’t get to comment all the time but I am always peepin out the BLOCK!!

Speak on it!

